KiD CuDi – “Man on the Moon II: The Legend of Mr. Rager” review

Just a year after his fantastic full-length debut Man on the Moon: The End of Day, Cleveland rapper KiD CuDi is back with a sophomore effort that happens to be a sequel to his debut. The album kicks off with “Scott Mescudi vs. the World”, where CuDi’s venting about the cons of his recent success over a spacey beat from Emile & the hook from Cee-Lo Green on here is pretty catchy. On the next song “RevOfEv (Revolution of Evolution)”, CuDi sincerely tells the kids there’s no need to stress & the beat from CuDi’s then manager Plain Pat on this song has these nice keys throughout. The song “Marijuana” is a weed anthem if you couldn’t tell by it’s title & not only do I like CuDi’s delivery on here but I also like the kinda beat from his longtime friend WZRD cohort Dot da Genius, which has these relaxing keys throughout & even a kick-ass guitar solo near the end. The song “Ashin’ Kusher” (awesome title by the way) talks about keeping it funky while being stoned & the instrumental from Chuck Inglish of The Cool Kids on here suits CuDi really well. The next track “Erase Me” sees CuDi & his mentor Kanye West talking about this chick but unlike the song “Make Her Say (I Poke Her Face)” off of CuDi’s last album, this one is so corny it’s not even funny. While I can totally appreciate the vibe on the following track “Wild’n Cuz I’m Young”, I’d rather listen to “Pursuit of Happiness”. The track “Maniac” talks about CuDi’s demons (namely his cocaine abuse) over a St. Vincent sample & while I never thought we’d EVER get a guest verse from Cage on a KiD CuDi song, it fits in with the song’s vibe like a glove. The closer “Trapped in My Mind” sees CuDi expressing how he feels like he’s “stuck on rewind though he’s looking forward” over a dreamy beat. The iTunes bonus track “Maybe” has a futuristic sounding beat & lyrically, talks about feeling low one day & the next day being better. Might sound cheesy to some but me personally, I actually find it to be a relatable song & I kinda wish it wasn’t just an iTunes exclusive. While I don’t think it’s as consistent as his debut, it’s still as cohesive. If this does end up being the final Man on the Moon album (& I say that because I highly doubt we’ll ever get Man on the Moon III at this point), I’d totally be fine with it

Score: 3.5/5

Author: legendswillneverdie

Just a 20 year old guy who passionately loves hip hop culture & music as a whole

Leave a Reply

